Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

primary sources: newspapers

 

 

Contemporary Newspapers

Historical Newspapers

 

SELECTED RESOURCES

America's Historical Newspapers. Contains digital copies of articles from about 1,000 American newspapers from all the current 50 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1900

Historical New York Times. Full page and article images from 1851 to 2001.

Historical Washington Post. Full page and article images from 1877 to 1988.

Wall Street Journal Historical Archive (1889-1993). The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800. Full text of one of the most important 18th century American newspapers.

Harper's Weekly: the Civil War Era and Reconstruction (1857-1877). Browse or search issues of Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

LexisNexis Academic. Massive full-text database, containing millions of documents from over 12,000 sources, primarily newspapers, general-interest magazines, and trade publications, along with an extensive collection of legal and business publications.

Lexington Gazette.  W&L owns 1835-1962.

The News-Gazette. Lexington paper. W&L owns 1962 to present.

Rockbridge County News. W&L owns 1884-1962

Rockbridge Weekly. Buena Vista paper. W&L owns 1990 to present.

Ring-Tum Phi. W&L's student newspaper. W&L owns 1897 to present.

 

 

 

Find: