Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Research Databases

Finding Books   &  Do we have the books you need?

         To find books on your topic, you should use Annie, our Library Catalog. If the library does not have enough coverage on your topic, you may search WorldCat, a national catalog. WorldCat has an interlibrary loan icon (ILL) on the results page, which allows you to request the book from another library.


Finding Articles  &  Do we have the articles you need?

         Articles are found in indexes, also called databases. A listing of humanities indexes is found below. Many databases have direct links to full-text articles. However, if no full-text if provided in the database, you need to go to our Periodical Finder . This will indicate where you can find the full-text of the article, be it in online form or in print form in the library stacks. However, our holdings are limited, and you may use our  Interlibrary Loan service to request articles we do not have available.


Citing Books and Articles for your bibliography and footnotes

      There are a number of citation style guides . The ones mostly used in the humanities are the Chicago Style and the MLA Style. The most detailed information is found in the printed books (Turabian Manual; MLA Guide), rather than the online manuals. However, if you are citing an online source, you should use the online manuals listed.


Databases for Articles and Book Essays

Alternative Press Index - Connect or More Details

Expanded Academic ASAP - Connect or More Details

ProQuest Research Library - Connect or More Details

ATLA Religion - Connect or More Details

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index - Connect or More Details

America: History and Life - Connect or More Details

Contemporary Women's Issues: Connect or More Details

EconLit: Connect or More Details

Index to Legal Periodicals Fulltext: Connect or More Details

P.A.I.S. (Public Affairs Information Service): Connect or More Details

PsycINFO: Connect or More Details

Sociological Abstracts: Connect or More Details

 

Find: