Skip to:
Main Content
Washington and Lee University
Library Home
Research
Library Catalog
Library Resources / Databases
Subject & Course Guides
Special Collections & Archives
Reference Resources
Primary Sources
Research FAQ
Statistical & GIS
Citation Styles & Plagiarism
Services
For Students
For Faculty
For Visitors
Interlibrary Loan
My Library Account
Room Reservations
Technology for Check-out
Library Hours
Contacts
Contact Us
Friends of the Library
About the Library
African-American History Resources
Africana.com
Afro-American Sources in Virginia: A Guide to Manuscripts (an electronic book)
Afro-American Studies on the Web
American Slave Narratives
(Univ. of Virginia)
The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide
African American Odyssey
(Library of Congress - American Memory)
African American Web Connection
(William R. Jones)
African American Women: On-line Archival Collections
(Duke Univ.)
Africans in America
(PBS)
Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas (Univ. of Virginia)
Black Members of the United States Congress, 1870-2004
Milestones in Black History
Booker T. Washington Papers
(Univ. of Illinois)
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
(American Memory - Library of Congress)
Chronology on the History of Slavery and Racism
Digital Librarian: African-Americans
(many good links)
Documenting the American South: North American Slave Narratives
(UNC - Chapel Hill)
Frederick Douglass Papers
(American Memory - Library of Congress)
From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909
(Library of Congress)
Gateway to African-American History
The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance and Abolition
(Yale Univ.)
Harlem History
(Columbia University)
The History of Jim Crow
The Jackson Davis Collection of African-American Educational Photographs (Univ. of Virginia)
Javanoir: A Selected Guide to African American Resources on the Internet
Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project
(Stanford Univ.)
Negro Leagues Baseball Online Archives
Race and Place: African American Community Histories
(Univ. of Virginia)
Resources on Slavery
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Selected African American Studies Web Resources
(Univ. Press of Va.)
The Universal Black Pages: History
(many links)
Virginia Black History Archives
(VCU)
18th and 19th Century Slave Trade Data
(Univ. of Wisconsin)
Web Sites for Slave Movement in the 18th/19th Centuries
(Philip Curtin - Univ. of Wisc.)
Facts.com
(Facts on File News Services)
African American Review
(multi-disciplinary) (full text coverage via J-STOR)
Journal of Black Studies
(multi-disciplinary) (full text coverage via J-STOR)
Journal of Negro History (1916-1997)
(full text coverage via J-STOR)
An excellent print resource is THE HARVARD GUIDE TO AFRICAN-AMERICAN HISTORY (REF E 185 H 326 2001).
Find:
Law Library
University Homepage
Information Technology Services
Footer and Page information:
Washington & Lee University Library * 204 West Washington Street * Lexington, Virginia 24450 * (540) 458-8643
Copyright © Washington and Lee University
|
Privacy Policy
|
Email Us
Page maintained by
Vaughan Stanley