Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Image Databases

 

W&L SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

ARTstor.  W&L Subscription.

Art image database, containing hundreds of thousands of images. Includes Washington and Lee's teaching collection of images, and the Irish Studies images.

AP Photo Archive.  W&L Subscription.

The Photo Archive is an electronic library containing the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library. Click on "Enter the Archive".

The Great Buildings Collection. CD-ROM.  W&L Subscription.
You can search for a particular building, architect, or place. Limited information and images are available.

Accompanying website: One nice thing is that you can download software from this page to see a 3-D model of the building online.

PUBLIC IMAGE DATABASES

The Library of Congress: American Memory

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1750), currently containing over 6,000 reproductions. Biographies, commentaries, guided tours are available. Free postcard service is provided for the visitors.

The WebMuseum
From Paris, this site gives access to thousands of art historical images.

Artcyclopedia
The definitive guide to great art online, at art museum sites and image archives worldwide.
Can be browsed by:  Movement,  Medium, Subject, Nationality.

Eikon
Image database for Biblical Studies. Compiled by the Yale Divinity School.

Rochester Institute of Technology Image Database
RIT's online images of Medieval Manuscripts, graphic arts, and of the History of the Book.

The Bridgeman Art Library - a Fine Art Photographic Archive
Archive of images. Can only be viewed as thumbnails.

AICT
Art Images for College Teaching. "AICT is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community."

Photo Study Collection Database
From the Getty. A work-in-progress.

Time Inc. Picture Collection
Millions of pictures, primarily to market Time-Life images to the publishing and multi-media industries, this resource can be used by anyone after registering online.

Vistas: A Searchable Database of Spanish-American Images   Maintained by Prof. Jeff Barnett.

The Archive of Early American Images. From Brown University.

 

Other Links Of Interest:

Digital Library Federation


ARLIS/NA Web Site (Art Libraries Society of North America)


Art History Webmasters ASSOCIATION des webmestres en histoire de l'art

 

Find: