Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

English 105: Gossips and Cons

Prof. Wall, Fall 2009

Research Guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian

FINDING BOOKS

.Annie         
         Washington and Lee University's online catalog. Search for books, videos, DVDs, sound recordings and other materials the library owns. There are NO JOURNAL ARTICLES in Annie.

Once you have the call numbers for the books you need, go to the stacks and browse the books' call number areas for more books on the topic. Also, check the bibliography in the back of each book for more references.

WorldCat  

         Hundred of library catalogs combined. Expands your results but necessitates the use of interlibrary loan. So order sooner than later. It takes up to a couple of weeks for the books to arrive.

FINDING ARTICLES

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography

           The premier database for research in modern languages and literatures.

Academic Search Complete.

           A large multi-discipline journal database.

Humanities Research Guide

          This guide leads to the periodical databases for the humanities. Especially important for interdisciplinary research.

Project Muse

         Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and other disciplines.

JSTOR

         A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text EXCEPT for the most recent 2-to-5 years, based on JSTOR's agreement with the journal's publisher. Covers all subjects.

LexisNexis Academic

         Good for movie/film/play reviews.

PsycINFO.

        Index to articles in Psychology and the Behavioral Sciences

Sociological Abstracts.

        Primary index to research in sociology and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences.

 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Reference Shelf: Encyclopedias

Literature Resource Center (LRC) Contains extensive biographical and critical information on writers, movements, and works.
                                                                                                              

Magill on Literature  Basic critical analyses and brief plot summaries of important works in the history of literature (including non-fiction works), for more contemporary book reviews, for author biographies, and for profiles of literary characters.

Oxford Reference Online -- Literature

Oxford English Dictionary (OED).  The OED is the accepted authority on the history of words in the English language.

 

HOW TO

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

RefWorks Saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies.

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.

Find: