Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

medieval and renaissance political thought

History 306, Prof. Peterson

Winter 2011

Research Guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, humanities librarian

 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

The Cambridge History of Medieval Political Thought, c. 350-1450 .  Also available in ebook format; vol. 2.

The Cambridge History of Political Thought, 1450-1700 (ebook; vol. 3) : scroll down to Table of Contents

Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought   (ebook)

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Political Thought

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (ebook).   Survey of the history of Western thought and culture.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages    (14 vols.)

Illustrated Encyclopedia of Medieval Civilization

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance

Dictionary of Ethics, Theology, and Society

ARTstor image database.   Finds art images to liven up your presentation.

 

FINDING BOOKS

Library Catalog - books and media at W&L

WorldCat - hundreds of library catalogs rolled into one (use our interlibrary loan service to request books we don't own)

 

FINDING ARTICLES

Historical Abstracts  Most comprehensive database to literature on history outside of North America.

Philosopher's Index. Includes political philosophy

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance  Online bibliography and index to journal literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)

International Medieval Bibliography Online  Indexes publications on all subjects relating to the Middle Ages (400-1500 AD)

JSTOR   General index to academic journals in all disciplines. Last 2-5 years are not included. 100% full text

Project Muse  Index focusing on the humanities. 100% full text

Religion and Philosophy Collection.  Includes polical philosophy

 

More databases listed in the Humanities Research Guide

 

FINDING FULL TEXT

WebBridge - use this link from within a database to determine if we can supply you with the full text of the article. use our interlibrary loan service to get articles the library does not have in full text. See below.

 

HOW TO

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Use the Chicago Manual of Style or the Turabian Style Guide

RefWorks   Saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.

Find: