Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

Use FIREFOX or SAFARI to load this page. Internet Explorer does not retrieve the entire page.


English Resources

Course Guides. Resources for specific courses taught in the English department.

Recommended resources for research in English

MLA International Bibliography -- Primary research database for the modern languages and literatures.

Literature Resources from Gale -- Enormous compilation of biographical and critical material, which is based on the well-established Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Contemporary Authors series. Coverage is not limited to fiction.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online. Electronic version of the most complete dictionary of the English language. Strong in etymology.

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry -- a searchable index to poems

Citation style guides and tools -- In the Humanities, the most often used bibliographic citation styles are "Chicago/Turabian" and "MLA Style". Also includes a link to "RefWorks", an online bibliographic management tool

Humanities Research Guide-- Links to Annie, WorldCat, MLA Bibliography, and other indexes

Periodical Finder -- listing of journals, magazines, newspapers available at W&L.

RefWorks saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Literature and Language Databases. List of all databases and online reference works for English.

Companions

Oxford Reference Online -- Literature (complete collection)

A Companion to the Literatures of Colonial America

American History through Literature, 1820-1870

American History through Literature, 1870-1920

Oxford Dictionary of Plays

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature

Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature

Cambridge History of English and American Literature

Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Concise Oxford Companion to American Literature

Companion to Medieval English Literature and Culture
Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

Oxford Companion to English Literature
Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature
Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Dictionary of Shakespeare
Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English
Dictionary of Writers and their Works

Gothic Literature: a Gale Critical Companion

Dictionaries

Middle English Compendium. Provided by the University of Michigan

Middle English Dictionary. Part of the Middle English Compendium (U.Michigan)

Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable

New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd. ed.

Oxford American Dictionary of Current English
Concise Oxford Dictionary
Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English
Oxford Paperback Thesaurus

 

Digital Images

Catalog of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts.   This site was designed to enable users to find fully digitized manuscripts currently available on the web. Created and maintained at UCLA.

ARTstor. Searchable database of more than a millionimages applicable different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities. Can view and analyze images through features such as zooming and panning.

 

Find: