Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

French 273: Introduction to Literary Analysis

Professor Dixon

Winter 2008

Course guide prepared by Prof. Merrill

Evaluate what you find:

Read this piece to quickly learn about evaluating sources.

 

Biographical and Contextual Resources:

Literature Resources by Gale . Search your author, and then click the "Biographies" tab; the "Literary-Historical Timeline" tab, and more.

Guides to French Literature. Listing of important reference books

Leximagne: Gateway to Nearly 800 French Dictionaries

French-English and English-French dictionaries are also available at the Circulation Desk; in the Reference Room; and in the stacks.

 

Finding Literary Criticism:

Annie Catalog (books)  

WorldCat (books)

MLA Bibliography (journal articles and book chapters). Most important index for literary research. Some full text. (MLA Bibliography Tutorial)

Project Muse (full text journal articles)

JSTOR (full text journal articles)

Arts and Humanities Search (journal articles).  General humanities index; some full text.

 

Do we have the journal article you need?

Check our Periodical Finder to determine if we have access to the journal you need, and if we have the date you need. If not, please fill out the Interlibrary Loan form on that page.

To determine if the library has the article you need, click the WebBridge WebBridge  icon within the database.

Grammar

Corrector programs are available at the Tucker Multimedia Center.

For French grammar books, click here: French language -- Grammar

HOW TO

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.

Find: