Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Research Guide

French 397: Eighteenth-Century French Women Writers

Professor Kamara

Winter 2006

Research Guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian.

 

Know how to Evaluate what you find:

Read this piece to quickly learn about evaluating sources.

Biographical and Contextual Resources:

Literature Resource Center. Search your author, and then click the "Biographies" tab; the "Literary-Historical Timeline" tab, and more.

Guides to French Literature. Listing of important reference books

The Encyclopedia of Diderot & d'Alembert. Widely considered to be one of the crowning achievements of the Enlightenment, the Encyclopedia edited by Denis Diderot and Jean le Rond d'Alembert in the 18th century has proved to be fertile ground for those who have sought to classify and chronicle the various branches of knowledge. This highly ambitious project was published during the period 1751 to 1777, and included 32 volumes amply illustrated with engraved plates. Close to 250 years later, a group of talented individuals sought to create an online version of the Encyclopedia translated into English, with links to the original French versions. From the U. of Michigan.

The Blackwell Companion to the Enlightenment.

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO). Online and searchable version of books published in the 18th C.

Leximagne: Gateway to Nearly 800 French Dictionaries .

Printed dictionaries in French-English and English-French are available at the Circulation Desk; in the Reference Room; and in the stacks.

Finding Literary Criticism:

Annie Catalog (books)  

WorldCat (books)

MLA Bibliography (journal articles and book chapters). Most important index for literary research. Some full text. ( MLA Bibliography Tutorial )

Project Muse (full text journal articles)

JSTOR (full text journal articles; the last 2-5 years are not in the database)

Arts and Humanities Search (journal articles).  General humanities index; some full text.

Literature Resource Center (essays and articles). Look for author/title and then click "Literary Criticism" tab.

Do we have the journal article you need?

Many article citations include a link to WebBridge; click on that image to find out where the text of the article is available. For databases without WebBridge, consult our Periodical Finder. If we don't have your article available, you may fill out an Interlibrary Loan request.

Writing your bibliography and endnotes:

Here are links to Citation Style Guides which show you the right format for citing sources. There is also a link to plagiarism sites from here.

Research Appointments:

If you'd like to have some individual time with me to discuss ways on how to research your topic, please send me a Research Appointment request.

Writing your paper:

Corrector programs are available at the Tucker Multimedia Center.

For French grammar books, click here: French language -- Grammar

Find: