Medieval and Renaissance Studies

Course Guide for MRST 395: Renaissance Lives in Film

Professor Campbell

Spring 2007

Sample Topic: 

Knighthood in Time of the Crusades, reflected in The Kingdom of Heaven

 

Keywords for this search are: knight* and crusade* (--> * = truncation tool)

Film information

The Internet Movie Database (IMDB)

Research Databases

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Articles from over 400 journals - as well as books and book reviews. 

International Medieval Bibliography

International Medieval Bibliography (1984-1993).  On CD-ROM 15, available at Leyburn Library's circulation desk.
International Medieval Bibliography (1990-present).  In print, call number Z6203.I63 on level 2.

Cetedoc Library of Christian Latin Texts (aka "Corpus Christianorum" and as "Patrologiae Latinae)
Latin texts with translations in English, French, German, and Italian.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Humanities Research Guide. Links to Annie, WorldCat, and periodical indexes in the humanities

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages: Connect or More Details

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 volumes. In print

Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia (Volume 1, A-J): Connect or More Details

Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia (Volume 2, K-Z): Connect or More Details

Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance -- Italy, France, and England: Connect or More Details

Who's Who in the Middle Ages. In print

Oxford Dictionary to the Renaissance.

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. In print.

Images

ArtStor. Thousands of art images from across all times.

Finding and Citation Tools

Periodical Finder and WebBridge
Listing of journals, magazines, newspapers available at W&L (help page)

Citation style guides and tools : In the Humanities, the most often used bibliographic citation styles are "Chicago/Turabian" and "MLA Style". Also includes a link to "RefWorks", an online bibliographic management tool.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

 

 

  Page maintained by Yolanda Merrill