Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Research Guide

Modern Japanese Literature in Translation


Literature in Translation 295                                                                                                                                                           

Professor Knighton, Winter 2010

Research guide byYolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian

 

RECOMMENDED BOOKS BY PROF. KNIGHTON

Click here for the bibliography. Check the Annie Catalog for call numbers and availability.

 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Literature Resource Center   (online)

This database includes the full text of:

  • Japanese Fiction Writers, 1868-1945
  • Japanese Fiction Writers Since World War II

Cambridge History of Japan   (online)

Japanese Women Writers: a Bio-Critical Sourcebook. Mulhern, Chieko. 1994

Modern Japanese Novelists: a Biographical Dictionary. Lewell, John. 1993

Modern Japanese Writers. Ed. by John Rubin. 2001

Japan Foundation. Arts and Cultural Exchange. Provides works translated into other languages.

Library of Congress. Portals of the World: Language and Literature -- Japan.

 

FINDING BOOKS

Annie, the Library Catalog

WorldCat. Huge catalog providing you with more extensive results. Interlibrary Loan requests often necessary.

 

FINDING ARTICLES IN JOURNALS

MLA Bibliography. Leads to journal articles, book chapters, on literatures and languages.

Historical Abstracts. Premier historical index of journal literature, exlcuding North America.

Arts and Humanities Search. Large index focusing on arts and humanities disciplines.

JSTOR. Full text article database covering many disciplines. Current 2-5 years are not available.

Project Muse Full text article database that focuses primarily on the Humanities.

Humanities Research Guide. This guide lists all the databases we have in the Humanities: history, art, philosophy, religion, etc.

FINDING THE FULL TEXT OF JOURNAL ARTICLES

WebBridge. This tool searches all our online databases for the full text of the article you need.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

HOW TO

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.

 


Find: