Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Philosophy 395A: John Rawls and Justice

Fall 2007, Prof. Sessions

Research Guide prepared by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian

Image

Background Information

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Dictionary of the History of Ideas

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (first revision)

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (work in progress)

The philosophers : introducing great western thinkers / edited by Ted Honderich

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World

Finding Books

Annie ex: KeyWord search: Rawls justice

         LC Subject Heading = Rawls, John (this will lead to a number a subject headings on Rawls)

WorldCat. Hundreds of library catalogs combined.

Finding Articles

Philosopher's Index : premier index for philosophy research

ATLA Religion - premier index for religion research

Arts and Humanities Search - large index covering all the humanities

MLA International Bibliography -  premier index for literature and language research

Literature Resource Center - biographies and more
Humanities Research Guide - lists all indexes for research in the humanities

more resources in Philosophy - other online resources

How To

Define and research your topic.

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.

 

Find: