Humanities Research Guide

Finding Books 

         To find books on your topic, you should use Annie, our Library Catalog. If the library does not have enough coverage on your topic, you may search WorldCat, a national catalog. WorldCat has an interlibrary loan icon (ILL) on the results page, which allows you to request the book from another library. If you are doing a search by topic, we recommend you start your search using KEYWORD.

Finding Articles  &  Do we have the articles you need?

         Articles are found in indexes, also called databases. A listing of humanities indexes is found below. Many databases have direct links to full-text articles. However, if no full-text if provided in the database, you need to go to our Periodical Finder (help page). The Periodical Finder will indicate where you can find the full-text of the article, be it in online form or in print form in the library stacks. However, our holdings are limited, and you may use our Interlibrary Loan service to request articles we do not have available.

The Look for full text through WebBridge icon in search results will link you to full-text resources (when available).

Databases by Discipline

TIPS    1 : Read through the entire list of databases before making your selection

          2 : Read the info page to determine what the database consists of, how to search it, etc.

GENERAL HUMANITIES

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

Project Muse - info and connect

JSTOR - info and connect

Alternative Press Index - info and connect

Expanded Academic ASAP - info and connect

ProQuest Research Library - info and connect

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) - info and connect

More online resources in the Humanities

ART & ARCHITECTURE

Art Full Text - info and connect

Art Retrospective - info and Connect

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) - info and connect                    Connect

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

Grove Art Online (encyclopedia) - info and connect

ARTStor (art images) - info and connect

More online resources in Art & Architecture

LITERATURES & LANGUAGES

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography - info and Connect

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

More online resources in Literature & Language

PHILOSOPHY

Philosopher's Index - info and Connect

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (work in progress) - Connect

More online resources in Philosophy

RELIGION

ATLA Religion - info and connect

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

Encyclopedia of Religion - online and in print

More online resources in Religion

HISTORY

America: History and Life - info and connect

Historical Abstracts - info and Connect

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance - info and Connect

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index - info and connect

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

International Medieval Bibliography - info and connect
More online resources in History

CLASSICS

l'Année Philologique - info and connect

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae: info and connect

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

More online resources in Classics

MUSIC

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

Grove Music Online (encyclopedias) - info and connect

See also the ALL HUMANITIES section above

THEATER

Arts and Humanities Search - info and connect

Grove Music Online (encyclopedias) - info and connect

LexisNexis - info and connect

 

Citing Books and Articles for your bibliography and footnotes

         There are a number of citation style guides. The ones most used in the humanities are the Chicago Style and the MLA Style. The most detailed information is found in the printed books (Turabian Manual; MLA Guide), rather than the online manuals. However, if you are citing an online source, you should use the online manuals listed.

  Page maintained by Yolanda Merrill