Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

medieval and renaissance studies

 

Course Research Guides

MRST 395: Renaissance Lives in Film

HISTORY 306: Medieval and Renaissance Political Thought

 

Major Research Resources

Finding Journal Articles:  video tutorial

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (online). 

Indexes articles from over 400 journals - as well as books and book reviews. 

International Medieval Bibliography. Online

International Medieval Bibliography (1984-1993). 
On CD-ROM 15, available at Leyburn Library's circulation desk.


International Medieval Bibliography (1990-present). 
In print, call number Z6203.I63 on level 2.

Cetedoc Library of Christian Latin Texts

(aka "Corpus Christianorum" and as "Patrologiae Latinae). Latin texts with translations in English, French, German, and Italian.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Early English Books Online Contains 125,000 works from between 1473-1700 (full image)

Middle English Compendium. Provided by the University of Michigan

Middle English Dictionary. Part of the Middle English Compendium (U.Michigan)

Dictionary of the Middle Ages.  14 vols.

Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature

 

Research and Finding Tools

Humanities Research Guide 
Links to the Library Catalog, WorldCat, and periodical indexes in the humanities


Periodical Finder
Listing of journals, magazines, newspapers available at W&L (help page)

Citation style guides and tools : In the Humanities, the most often used bibliographic citation styles are "Chicago/Turabian" and "MLA Style". Also includes a link to "RefWorks", an online bibliographic management tool.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

 

WEBSITES

Please note: links to sites that our library does not subscribe to may be outdated.

To find the correct URL, please search Google.

DIGITAL IMAGES OF MEDIEVAL MANUSCRIPTS

 

OTHER SITES

North American Institutes, Organizations, and Collections Electronic Journals W&L's Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program homepage.

Find: