Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University

spanish american culture and civilization
   

Spanish 212

Professor Pinto-Bailey

Fall 2009

Research Guide by Yolanda Merrill, Humanities Librarian

 


BACKGROUND INFORMATION

 

FINDING BOOKS

In both databases, start off with Keyword searches, such as:

saint* (latin america*)

 

FINDING ARTICLES

Historical Abstracts - Premier index to historical articles outside North America

MLA Bibliography - An international index to scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore.

Art Full Text - Premier index for art historical research

JSTOR - A digital archive of over 1,100 important scholarly journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.

Project Muse - Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers

Arts and Humanities Search - A large, multi-faceted index to articles in over 1,300 journals, and magazines, covering all aspects of the arts and the humanities.

  • DO WE HAVE THE JOURNAL ARTICLE YOU NEED?

To find out if we have a copy of the article you need: Click on the WebBridge link within the database. If we don't, you may fill out the provided Undergraduate Interlibrary Loan form.

If you encounter a problem with WebBridge's functionality, you may search for the Journal title (not the article title) in the Periodical Finder.

 

FINDING IMAGES

ARTstor - vast database with images representing all art forms. Images may be imported into the research paper or presentation.

 

HOW TO

Write an academic paper. Excellent introduction to researching and writing an academic paper. Created by Dartmouth College library.

Request an item on Interlibrary Loan. This W&L service will borrow books and articles for you from other libraries.

Write your bibliography.  Learn to cite your sources using the MLA (Modern Language Association) Citation Style guide.

RefWorks : saves lists of citations from databases, and creates notes and bibliographies

Avoid Plagiarism. Staying out of trouble.

Get Research Help. Fill out this form if you'd like to meet with Prof. Merrill individually to discuss your research.


Find: