Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

"alert" searches

Current Awareness from Newspapers and Magazines

Searches of a given topic in many of W&L's article databases can be stored in a personal account.   This stored search can be used to generate an automatic search of that topic, at a prescribed interval, with results of each new search ("alert") delivered by e-mail to one or more individuals.

And it is possible In each database to specify the publications you wish to cover.

The databases listed below are particularly good for covering newspapers and news magazines.

Coverage of U.S. Newspapers

Two databases are useful for alert searches of newspapers, with a focus on U.S. newspapers.

NewsBank Access World News .

Articles from hundreds of U.S. newspapers, along with a few other wire and broadcast sources.

  • Set up/access your personal account ("Login," upper right).
  • Perform your search and view the results.
  • Click on "Create E-mail Alert," above the results.
  • Fill out the "Email Alerts" form -- e-mail address(es), frequency.

Newspaper Source Plus

More international in coverage than NewsBank, but still emphasizing U.S. sources.

  • Set up/access your personal account ("Sign In," upper right).   Note: This same account also will work in Academic Search Complete (below).
  • Perform your search and view the results.
  • Click on "Alert / Save / Share," above the results.
  • Click on "Creat an alert: E-mail Alert."
  • Fill out the "Create Alert" form -- e-mail address(es), frequency, etc.

 

Coverage of Magazines and Much More

Academic Search Complete

This database contains articles from over 9,000 magazines and journal, including the most popular news magazines.

  • Set up/access your personal account ("Sign In," upper right).   Note: This same account also will work in Newspaper Source Plus (above).
  • Perform your search and view the results.
  • Click on "Alert / Save / Share," above the results.
  • Click on "Creat an alert: E-mail Alert."
  • Fill out the "Create Alert" form -- e-mail address(es), frequency, etc.

 

If you need some help, you can contact Senior Reference Librarian Dick Grefe.

Find: