AA

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- Journalism 212
the journalist in fiction and film

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

 

Remember the value of using synonymous terms: 

  • (movie* OR film* OR "motion picture*" OR cinema*)
  • (image* OR depict* OR portray*)

 

BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES AND SOME SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, as well as major academic/scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete

An excellent place to begin.  Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 9,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 8,500 peer-reviewed journals.

Journalism Professional sites -- Google Search

Search engine enables you to search through the contents of over 160 sites in the W&L University Library's Journalism Resources Issues and Research and Professional Associations collections.

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES AND RELATED MATERIALS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources.

JSTOR

A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals, but without the most recent 3-to-4 years.

Project Muse

Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers.

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography

Database of scholarly articles and other materials relating to the study of literature, language, and related subject areas.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides citations to articles in over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major social science journals and related materials.

PsycInfo

Database covering scholarly literature in psychology and related behavioral sciences, including over 1,500 academic journals, as well as other sources.

America: History and Life

Articles from about 1,800 history journals and other scholarly sources.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Over 2.7 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, with many provided in PDF form.

 

Find: