AA

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- Journalism 221

communication in global perspective

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.


BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES AND SOME SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, as well as major academic/scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 9,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 8,500 peer-reviewed journals, as well as over 5,500 full-text periodicals.

LexisNexis Academic

Articles from American and foreign newspapers, popular and trade magazines, legal resources, more -- mostly newspapers.

NewsBank Access World News

Articles from 1,700 U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services.   Easy to search one state's newspapers.

Newspaper Source Plus

Full-text coverage of U.S. and international newspapers.

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES AND RELATED MATERIALS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides citations to articles in over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major social science journals and related materials.

JSTOR

A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals, but without the most recent 3-to-4 years.

Project Muse

Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers.

 

PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS AND THINK TANKS

Articles, working papers, reports, and more from important journalism and public policy organizations.

Journalism Resources -- Google Search

Search engine for about 150 important professional journalism sites and organizations.

Columbia International Affairs Online

Papers, reports, and other materials from the Web sites of over 70 think tanks and other research organizations specializing in international affairs.

Public Policy Groups -- Google Search

Search engine which accesses the Web sites of these think tanks.

Find: