Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

finding Articles -- journalism 295a
covering classic journalism

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, see this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

 

FINDING OLDER ARTICLES

Particularly useful for finding articles written near the time of an event in the earlier tweintieth century. 

Periodicals Index Online

Citations of millions of articles published in over 4,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, with retrospective coverage going back over 200 years.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

Available in print form only.  Lists articles in the best-known popular magazines.

Historical New York Times

Offers full page and article images from 1851 to 2001, with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Historical Washington Post

Offers full page and article images from 1877 to 1988 with searchable full text back to the first issue.

LexisNexis Congressional -- Hearings

Did members of Congress have questions about an event?  Here are texts of hearings, beginning in 1824.

 

FINDING MORE RECENT ARTICLES

Mostly valuable for journal, magazine, and newspapers articles published within the past twenty or so years, although some older articles are available, particularly in JSTOR.

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 9,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 8,500 peer-reviewed journals, as well as over 5,500 full-text periodicals.

JSTOR

Complete texts of every article in every issue of about 800 important scholarly journals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Database of journal articles in mass media, communications, and related fields.

America: History and Life

The only database devoted to coverage of North American history, including political science, history, and area studies journals.

LexisNexis Academic

Coverage of many of the 18,000+ sources begins in the 1990's, although some start earlier.

NewsBank Access World News

A database of articles from 1,700 U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Chronological coverage varies among sources, but many extend back to the 1990's.

Find: