Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- journalism 301
law and communications

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, see this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

 

LAW REVIEWS AND OTHER LEGAL PERIODICALS

These databases specialize in identifying articles in law reviews, law journals and magazines, and similar publications.

LexisNexis Academic -- U.S. Legal

This section of LexisNexis Academic defaults to a search of about 900 law reviews and legal journals.  Additional options are listed in the column on the left side of the page.

Legal Collection

Full-text content of more than 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals.

 

SCHOLARLY ARTICLES IN COMMUNICATIONS, JOURNALISM, AND RELATED FIELDS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources, including political science journals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides citations to articles in over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources.

JSTOR

Complete texts of every article in every issue of about 800 important scholarly journals, including over 50 law journals.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major (and more obscure) social science journals and related materials.

America: History and Life

The only article database devoted to coverage of North American history, including political science, history, and area studies journals.

 

BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES, NEWSPAPERS, PROFESSIONAL LITERATURE, AND SOME SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Good starting place.  Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, as well as major legal and scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 9,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 8,500 peer-reviewed journals, as well as over 5,500 full-text periodicals.

Journalism Professional Sites

Google-based search engine enables you to search through the contents of over 160 "professional" journalism and mass media Web sites.

LexisNexis Academic

Articles from American and foreign newspapers, popular and trade magazines, legal resources, more -- mostly newspapers.

 

 

Find: