Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Information About Stonewall Jackson Cemetery Residents
Discovering Early American Newspapers

Old Newspapers on Microfilm

There are no printed indexes for the older issues of these local papers, but microfilmed copies of the issues are available in the library.

The library also holds microfilm of other newspapers that covered the Lexington and Rockbridge County area.   (Links go to listings in Annie.)

U.S. Census Schedules

Sometimes referred to as the "manuscript Census," these are "the questionnaires, listing individuals by name, that were filled out by census-takers." The 1930 Census of Population is the most recent available to the public.      (For more information, see this National Archives page.)

The Census Bureau Web site provides a few examples of these old forms and the National Archives has some examples, including this one for fans of American literature.

A list of schedules available in Leyburn Library is below. Note that there are printed indexes for some of the schedules, but only a few: Census schedules in Leyburn Library

But... W&L researchers now have online access to the contents of the "manuscript Census" from 1790 to 1930 through the commercial HeritageQuest Online database, which provides images from these census records.

Rockbridge County and Other Public Records

Leyburn Library has microfilmed copies of records from the Rockbridge County Courthouse, 1770-1880.

The free Family Search database "provides access to genealogical information on millions of individuals from several countries."   While there are only very limited Virginia records in the database, records from other states include individuals whose families "passed through" Rockbridge County.

 

Miscellaneous in Special Collections

Leyburn Library's Special Collections department contains extensive information (letters, documents, clippings, books, etc.) on local history.

Find: