AA

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- Journalism 101
Introduction to the news media

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.


BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES AND SOME SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, as well as major academic/scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete

An excellent place to begin.  Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 9,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 8,500 peer-reviewed journals.

LexisNexis Academic

Articles from American and foreign newspapers, popular and trade magazines, legal resources, more -- mostly newspapers.

NewsBank Access World News

Database of articles from 1,700 U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services.   Easy to search one state's newspapers.

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES AND RELATED MATERIALS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides citations to articles in over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources.

PsycInfo

Covers the professional/scholarly literature of psychology, which includes extensive material on communications-related research.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major social science journals and related materials.

JSTOR

A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals, but without the most recent 3-to-4 years.

Project Muse

Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers.

Journalism Professional Sites

Google-based search engine enables you to search through the contents of over 160 sites in the W&L University Library's Issues and Research and Professional Associations collections of journalism resources.

SUGGESTION:   If you need to determine whether or not a given periodical (journal or magazine) is a "scholarly" or "academic" resource, search for that periodical in the Ulrich's Periodical Directory database and read the descriptive entry.  What you want is a periodical described as "academic/scholarly" and/or as "refereed."

For example, here is the Ulrich's list of "academic/scholarly" journalism journals, while here is the list of "academic/scholarly" communications journals.   Note that only a sub-set of "academic/scholarly" journals are refereed.

 

Find: