Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles
Journalism of the South Since 1945


To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this page.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.


HISTORICAL/RETROSPECTIVE COVERAGE

Articles and other materials written years after an event.

ProQuest Research Library

Citations to articles from over 2,000 publications, beginning with the early-to-mid-1980's. Includes popular and news magazines, as well as major academic journals.

Expanded Academic Index

Citations to articles from over 2,000 publications, beginning with the early-to-mid-1980's. Includes popular and news magazines, as well as major academic journals.

America: History and Life

Articles from history journals and related sources, covering North American history.

MLA Bibliography

Articles from literary journals and similar publications.

CONTEMPORARY COVERAGE

For materials written shortly after an event.

Periodicals Contents Index

Lists only articles published in magazines and journals before the 1990's.

Historical Newspapers -- Washington Post

Articles published 1877 to 1987.

Historical Newspapers -- New York Times

Articles published 1851 to 2001.

Richmond Times Dispatch / Richmond News Leader Index

Articles published 1940's to 1985.



Newspapers in microfilm in Leyburn Library include:

  • New York Times (1857- )
  • Richmond Times-Dispatch (1914- )
  • Roanoke Times (1965- )
  • Wall Street Journal (1889- )
  • Washington Post (1974- )

The following printed indexes (in the Indexes section of the library's Reference area) provide listings of contemporary (post-WWII) magazine and newspaper articles.

  • New York Times Index
  • Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
  • Richmond Times Dispatch ("Freeman File") covers late 1920's to 1985   (microfiche, AI 21.R5 F7 1989)
  • Times (London) Index
  • Wall Street Journal Index

Facts on Film

Enormous compilation of articles on civil rights and race relations, collected by the Southern Education Reporting Service. Closest location is Radford University.

Find: