Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- Journalism 295
The Changing Face of Chinese Journalism

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this page.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

 

BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES, NEWSPAPERS, AND ACADEMIC JOURNALS

Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, as well as major academic/scholarly journals.

Academic OneFile

Over 9,000 popular and news magazines and major academic journals.

ProQuest Research Library

Over 2,000 popular and news magazines and major academic journals.

LexisNexis Academic

Articles from American and foreign newspapers, popular and trade magazines, legal resources, more.
This database has many sections. You can focus your search on articles from Asia/Pacific sources by selecting the news category "World News" and selecting "Asia/Pacific News Sources."

NewsBank Access World News

Contains articles from about 1,700 U.S. and international news sources (mostly newspapers and newswires), including BBC translations of foreign-language articles from foreign sources.


ACADEMIC JOURNALS AND RELATED MATERIALS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources, including political science journals.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

The only article database devoted to coverage of mass media, communications, etc.  Try searching for china, changing the search field from "Select a field" to "GE Geographic terms.

ABI / Inform

Probably the best database for articles from business and trade magazines.

EconLit

The most comprehensive database for coverage of economics journals and related literature.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International

Very important international index to articles, books, and other materials on public policy and social policy. You will find items here that you do not find in any other index.

PolicyFile

Access to reports from public policy associations, think tanks, etc.

Columbia International Affairs Online

Reports, papers, and other documents found within the Web site of important "think tanks" and research institutions.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major political science and other social science journals and related materials.

Index to Legal Periodicals Fulltext

Articles in law reviews and other legal publications, including coverage of foreign/international law.

LegalTrac

Articles in law reviews and other legal publications, including coverage of foreign/international law.

Find: