Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

magazine Articles -- journalism 357
magazine feature writing

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, see this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

 

These article databases are excellent sources for magazine articles, as well as articles from more scholarly sources.

Academic Search Complete

Multidisciplinary article database offers access to more than 9,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers, including over 8,500 peer-reviewed journals, as well as over 5,500 full-text periodicals.

LexisNexis Academic -- Magazine Stories

This sub-set of the LexisNexis Academic database is designed to retrieve only magazine articles, but some newspapers seems to appear, too.

Note: The link above will work only on-campus.   You can get to the same collection by going to the general LexisNexis Academic site and then using the "Sources" option to select "Magazine Stories, Combined."

Periodicals Index Online

Citations of millions of articles published in over 4,000 periodicals, with retrospective coverage going back over 200 years.   Focuses on articles published before the mid-1990's.   Very little full-text access.

Some popular magazines (Newsweek, Saturday Review, etc.) are not listed in PIO.  To identify articles in these publication, use the printed Readers Guide to Periodical Literature  (REF AI 3.R28) and then check our Periodical Finder for access.

 

The library does have some (printed) resources which allow you to identify publishing opportunities in magazines:

However, the most comprehensive list of magazines and other periodicals is the Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

 

 

Find: