Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

online newspapers -- Journalism 180
great trials in history

The databases listed below can be used to find articles in selected newspapers and magazines from the late 17th Century to the present time.

Be sure to note the dates of coverage for each database.

MOSTLY HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS

America's Historical Newspapers

Contains digital copies of articles from about 1,000 American newspapers from all the current 50 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1900, with strongest coverage of the first half of the 19th century.

Harper's Weekly: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction (1857-1877)

Browse or search issues of Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.

Historical New York Times

The historical New York Times offers full page and article images from 1851 to 2001, with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Historical Washington Post

The historical Washington Post offers full page and article images from 1877 to 1988 with searchable full text back to the first issue.

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800

One of the most important 18th century American newspapers.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

As of September 2010, this site enables you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 from selected states (California, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, Virginia), with hundreds of thousands of pages from over 100 newspapers.

MOSTLY MODERN NEWSPAPERS

LexisNexis Academic

Coverage of many of the 18,000+ sources begins in the 1990's, although some start earlier.

NewsBank Access World News

A database of articles from 1,700 U.S. and international full-text information sources, mostly newspapers and wire services. Chronological coverage varies among sources, but many extend back to the 1990's.

Newspaper Source Plus

Full-text, cover-to-cover coverage of over 130 U.S. and international newspapers, plus selective full-text coverage for an additional 335 U.S. newspapers and transcripts from broadcast news sources. In many cases, chronological coverage extends back only several years, although some coverage begins in the 1990's.

Factiva

International business and news coverage from over 8,000 souces including newspapers, newswires, magazines, trade journals, radio and television transcripts, etc.  Mostly back to the 1990's.  Probably most useful for its coverage of the various Wall Street Journal editions and forms.

Find: