Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Press Freedoms Around the World

Each of these sites offers country-by-country overviews of press freedoms in countries of the world.
The links lead to annual overviews, but other materials on a country also may be available elsewhere in the Web site.

You may search the contents of these sites, along with these, via this search engine.

 

Committee to Protect Journalists
Look for the "Regions" options, on the lower-left side of the screen. Also see the Attacks on the Press compilation, as well as other resources listed on the right side of the home page.

Freedom of the Press Survey
Freedom House has published this annual assessment for two decades. This link takes you to the most current survey, with links to previous years' surveys farther down the page. (Print copies available in the library collection.)

Freedominfo.org
Joint project of the Open Society Institute and the National Security Archive that "that describes best practices, consolidates lessons learned, explains campaign strategies and tactics, and links the efforts of freedom of information advocates around the world." Includes country-by-country guide.

Media Sustainability Index
the International Research and Exchanges Board and the U.S. Agency for International Development provide this annual examination of the mass media in 20 countries in Southeast Europea and Eurasia.

Reporters Without Borders
This link takes you to the annual report on press freedoms worldwide, which provides a brief overview and numerical ranking for each country. Much more substantial reports can be found by using the regional links at the top of the page.

World Press Encyclopedia
Leyburn Library subscribes to this 2003 encyclopedia, which has much broader coverage than just "press freedoms," but each country's entry contains a section on that topic, in addition to much more information on the history and structure of the media.

World Press Freedom Review
The International Press Institute provides annual summaries of the state of the media in over 180 countries, as well as regional overviews. After you have selected a region, look for the list of countries on the right side of the page.

Find: