Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Reference Sources -- Journalism 101
Introduction to the news media

Here are a few encyclopedias and other resources which are useful for an introduction or overview of a subject.

Here are additional encyclopedias from our Web site -- journalism, American politics, sociology, legal issues, and psychology.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.   Elsevier.
Available online.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.  (2nd ed.).  Macmillan.

Available online.

World Press Trends.   World Association of Newspapers.

Available online.

State of the News Media.   Project for Excellence in Journalism.

Available online.

Country Profiles.  Washington and Lee University Library.

Available online.   Includes a Press Freedoms collection.

Encyclopedia of Journalism.  Sage.

Available online.

World Press Encyclopedia.  Gale.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.   Elsevier.

Available online.

International Encyclopedia of Communication.   Blackwell.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of Religion, Communication, and Media.   Routledge.

Available online.

Encyclopedia Of Children, Adolescents, And The Media.   Sage.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of American Journalism.  Routledge.

Available online.

Violence in the Media: A Reference Handbook.  ABC-Clio.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of Political Communication.  Sage.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of Public Relations.   Sage.

Available online.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film.   Schirmer.

Available online.

 

 

Find: