Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Reference Sources -- Journalism 212
the journalist in fiction and film

Here is a selection of encyclopedias and other "reference" resources which are useful for an introduction or overview of a subject.

W&L subscribes to additional resources in journalism, literature, sociology, film, and other subject areas.

 

Image of the Journalist in Popular Culture. Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism, University of Southern California.    Available online.

Mostly primary sources.

Encyclopedia of Journalism.  Sage.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.   Elsevier.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of American Journalism.  Routledge.

Available online.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film.   Schirmer.

Available online.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers.   St. James

Available online.

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature.   Oxford University Press.

Available online.

Literature Resource Center.    Gale.

Available online.

Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms.   Oxford University Press.

Availble online.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.   Elsevier.
Available online.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.  (2nd ed.).  Macmillan.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of Sociology.   Macmillan.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.  Sage.

Available online.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture.   ABC-Clio.

Available online.

 

Find: