Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

reference sources -- Journalism 295A
covering classic journalism

Overviews of an event, a time period, an individual, or a topic.

 

Dictionary of American History

This is the third edition (2003) of the most comprehensive encyclopedia on American history, comprising ten volumes in printed form. The 4,400 signed articles range in length.

American National Biography

contains orginal signed articles on more than 17,000 "men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation." In general, the database does not include essays on currently-living individuals.

Facts on File World News Digest

Searchable database of information and analysis on events and issues dating back to 1940.   Search for a name or event, or browse "Top News Stories by Decade" (lower left).

People's Chronology

Searchable database of nearly 45,000 chronologically-arranged entries outlining historical, social, political, scientific, artistic events from pre-history to 2004.   Browse table of contents by year.

Life Magazine

This is the record in Annie (the library catalog) containing a link to the Google Books digital collection of the issues of Life magazine, 1936-1972.

Literature Resource Center

Collection of thousands of literary criticism articles and essays from a variety of respected sources, including the Dictionary of Literary Biography  (which includes the American Literary Journalists series).

Magill on Literature Plus

Includes entries from the Masterplots series, critical surveys, other summaries and critical essays.

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of American Literature 

Attempts to analyze American authors within the contexts of the times in which they lived and worked.

Encyclopedia of American Journalism

Alphabetically-arranged entries on "journalists and their organizations who have observed and recorded the events of American history," with special attention to developments since 1945 and the end of World War II.

Crimes and Trials of the Century

Two-volume set (2007) contains chronologically-arranged accounts of about 35 trials of the past century, beginning with the Black Sox scandal (1919) and continuing to the 21st-century Abu Ghraib prisoner abuse scandal.

Media and American Courts

Guide to cases, personalities, and controversies that have redefined the court/press relationship in the past century as the media expanded from print and radio to courtroom cameras, cable, and the World Wide Web.up to 7,000 words.

Find: