Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- LAcs 357
multiculturalism in latin america; the case of brazil -- pinto-bailey

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

There are additional "article databases" available in each of these subject areas, under "Article Searching."

 

BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES AND SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Mostly useful as starting points. 

Academic Search Complete

Over 11,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.   Excellent starting point.

 

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES AND RELATED MATERIALS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources, including political science journals.

JSTOR

Extensive full-text holdings of important scholarly journals in a broad range of subject areas, but does not include recently-published (current 2-to-4 years) materials.

Project Muse

Full-text access to issues of over 220 journals from 37 scholarly publishers.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Multi-lingual bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America, including journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers.   Citations only -- no article texts.

Modern Language Association (MLA) International Bibliography

Database listing articles, chapters, books, and other materials relating to teh scholarly study of literature and language.  Covers mroe than 4,000 journals and magazines.

Communications and Mass Media Complete

Covers over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major social science journals and related materials, especially useful for researching cultural or ethnic issues.

Historical Abstracts

The only "article database" devoted to coverage of non-North American history, including political science, history, and area studies journals.

Art Full Text

Covers about 600 of art-related journals and magazines.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Database of over a million student dissertations and theses, which are book-length research papers.   You may find subjects covered here not available elsewhere..

Find: