Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- LAtin american and caribbean studies 396
capstone seminar -- botta

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

There are additional "article databases" available in each of these subject areas, under "Article Searching."

 

BROAD COVERAGE OF MAGAZINES AND SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Mostly useful as starting points. 

Academic Search Complete

Over 11,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.   Very good starting point.

LexisNexis Academic

Articles from American and foreign newspapers, popular and trade magazines, legal resources, more.

SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES AND RELATED MATERIALS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources, including political science journals.

JSTOR

Extensive full-text holdings of important scholarly journals in a broad range of subject areas, but does not include recently-published (current 2-to-4 years) materials.

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Multi-lingual bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America, including journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Database of over a million student dissertations and theses, which are book-length research papers.

Project Muse

Full-text access to recent issues of over 220 journal titles from 37 scholarly publishers.

 

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International

Very important international index to articles, books, and other materials on public policy and social policy. You will find items here that you do not find in any other index.

Communications and Mass Media Complete

Covers over 600 journals in communication, mass media, and related fields, as well as books, reports, dissertations, and other resources.

Sociological Abstracts

Covers major political science and other social science journals and related materials.

Historical Abstracts

The only "article database" devoted to coverage of non-North American history, including political science, history, and area studies journals.

EconLit

Scholarly database of journal articles and other materials in economics and related literature.

ABI/Inform

A premier resource for finding articles in business, management, accounting, and economics journals and magazines.

Environment Complete

Contains records from about 1,700 U.S. and international periodicals, covering ecosystems, energy, pollution, etc.

Art Full Text

Covers about 600 of art-related journals and magazines.

 

"THINK TANK" WEB SITES

PolicyFile

Reports, papers, and other documents found within the Web site of important "think tanks" and research institutions.

Columbia International Affairs Online

Papers, reports, and other materials from the Web sites of over 70 think tanks and other research organizations specializing in international affairs.

Public Policy Groups

This is a Google-based search engine which accesses the Web sites of these think tanks.

 

Find: