Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Reference Sources -- lacs 357
multiculturalism in latin amerca; the case of brazil -- pinto-bailey

The subject matter of this course's research is very multi-disciplinary, so the sources listed below represent some of the "highlights" of encyclopedias, etc. in the W&L library collections    Additional materials may be found through the Subject listings in our Web site, particularly in the LACS section, but also such subject areas as sociology, anthopology, literature, and film.

 

SELECTED SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS


Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World.   Oxford University Press.

Available online.

Dictionary of Contemporary World History.   Oxford University Press.

Available online.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life.   Gale.

Available online.

Human Relations Area Files -- World Cultures.   Yale University.

Available online.

Literature Resource Center.  Gale.

Available online.

Oxford Art Online.   Oxford University Press.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society.   Sage.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.   Academic Press.

Available online.

 

SELECTED REGIONAL SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.   Scribner's

Available online.

Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture.   Cambridge University Press.

Available online.

Atlas and Survey of Latin American History.  Sharpe.

Available online.

Cambridge History of Latin America.   Cambridge University Press.

Available online.

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature.   Cambridge University Press.

Available online.

Political and Economic Dictionary of Latin America.   Westview Press.

Available online.

Media in Latin America.   McGraw-Hill.

Available online.

Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater.   Scarecrow.

Available online.

Companion to Latin American Film.   Boydell & Brewer.

Available online.

Brazil: A Global Studies Handbook.   ABC-Clio.

Available online.

Brazil Society and Culture: Complete Report.  World Trade Press.

Available online.

 

MORE INFORMATION ABOUT COUNTRIES AND REGIONS

See the library's collection of Country Profiles sources, especially the Europa World Plus database.

Find: