Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Reference Sources -- latin american and caribbean studies 396
capstone seminar -- botta

The subject matter of this course's research is quite multi-disciplinary, so the sources listed below represent some of the "highlights" of encyclopedias, etc. in such subject areas as history, social sciences, envrionmental studies, literature, and other areas.   Additional materials may be found through the Subject listings in our Web site, particularly in the LACS section.

SELECTED REGIONAL SOURCES

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture.   Scribner's

Available online.

Atlas and Survey of Latin American History.  Sharpe.

Available online.

Cambridge History of Latin America.   Cambridge University Press.

Available online.

Cambridge Economic History of Latin America.  Cambridge University Press.

Available online.

Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture.   Cambridge University Press.

Available online.

Political and Economic Dictionary of Latin America.   Westview Press.

Available online.

Latin America and the Caribbean: A Continental Overview of Environmental Issues.   ABC-Clio.

Available online.

Media in Latin America.   McGraw-Hill.

Available online.

Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater.   Scarecrow.

Available online.

 

SELECTED SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Cultural Memory Studies : An International and Interdisciplinary Handbook.  De Gruyter.

Available online.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World.   Oxford University Press.

Available online.

Dictionary of Contemporary World History.   Oxford University Press.

Available online.

Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy.  Princeton University Press.

Available online.

Women and Politics Around the World.   ABC-Clio.

Available online.

Oxford Art Online.   Oxford University Press.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society.   Sage.

Available online.

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.   Academic Press.

Available online.

 

MORE INFORMATION ABOUT COUNTRIES AND REGIONS

See the library's collection of Country Profiles sources, especially the Europa World Plus database.

The University of Texas' Perry-Castaneda Collection offers a very useful selection of online maps, including a few historical ones.   Additional maps are available through LANIC (Latin American Information Center).

 

Find: