Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- Politics 235
The Presidency

To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

 

SCHOLARLY ARTICLES IN POLITICAL SCIENCE AND RELATED FIELDS

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources, including political science journals.

JSTOR

A digital archive of the most important scholarly journals, but without the most recent 3-to-4 years.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International

Very important database of records of articles, books, and other materials on public policy and political issues. You will find items here that you do not find in any other database.

PsycInfo

Thorough coverage of the psychology literature. Think about "behavioral" aspects of presidents -- character, personality, decision-making, communication, etc.

Sociological Abstracts

This database actually does a great job of covering major political science journals and other social science journals and related materials. Again, think about human behavior.

America: History and Life

Devoted to coverage of North American history, including political science, history, and area studies journals.

 

"THINK TANKS"

Papers, reports, articles, and more from the Web sites of important public policy research and analysis organizations.

PolicyFile

Reports, papers, and other documents found within the Web site of important "think tanks" and research institutions.

Columbia International Affairs Online

Papers, reports, and other materials from the Web sites of over 70 think tanks and other research organizations specializing in international affairs.

Public Policy Groups

This is a Google-based search engine which accesses the Web sites of these think tanks.


MAGAZINES, NEWSPAPERS, AND SOME SCHOLARLY JOURNALS

Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, as well as major academic/scholarly journals.

Academic Search Complete

Over 11,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.  Please note that search results are sub-divided into "Academic Journals," "Magazines," "Newspapers," etc.

LexisNexis Academic

Articles from American and foreign newspapers, popular and trade magazines, legal resources, more.

Includes a sub-set called Political News, which searches only Roll Call, The Hill, and Section A of the Washington Post.

Find: