Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

u.s. Electoral and political Data

Originally set up to support Mock Convention research.  We attempt to keep this page as up-to-date as possible.

RECENT DATA

The first two sources are very similar in structure and purpose -- they provide authoritative, non-partisan descriptions of political and socioeconomic conditions in each U.S. state and each Congressional district, as well as information on each member of Congress.

Almanac of American Politics

National Journal.

Politics in America

Congressional Quarterly.   

America Votes

Biennially-published data collection.  

U.S. Federal Election Commission

Mostly campaign finance data, but also an Election Results section.

Voter Contact Services

VCS is a private firm which builds and markets files of voter information for political campaigns and other users, although it is a little unclear how current the data is and why some jurisdictions are not included.   Still, there is free survey data on voters in states, congressional districts, and counties.

 

HISTORICAL COVERAGE, WITH SOME RECENT DATA

CQ Guide to U.S. Elections

Data on presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections.

Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions

State and regional overviews.

Vital Statistics on American Politics

Congressional Quarterly.   See especially Chapters 1 ("Elections and Political Parties") and 3 ("Public Opinion and Voting").

U.S. Census Bureau

The Census Bureau is the premier data-gathering organization in the U.S. and it actually is the source of a lot of voting and registration data that shows up in other compilations. 

The Voting and Registration section of the Census Bureau site includes several noteworthy collections, most notably the biennially-published Voting and Registration in the Election of November...which includes both a narrative report and detailed tables.  Historical data also are availablein at least two categories: Population Characteristics Reports   and Time Series Tables.

The Census Bureau also publishes the annual Statistical Abstract of the United States, the most recent of which includes this compilation of Elections data.

A Statistical History of the American Electorate

Another CQ publication.

Historical Statistics of the United States

The Elections and Politics section includes data on apportionment, turnout, voting, and more, including counts dating back to the late 18th century.   Do not overlook the excellent overview essay.

Electoral College

The Electoral College, under the oversight of the National Archives, primarily is a repository of historical electoral data, although they also have valuable information on the 2008 election, including an Electoral College calculator.

Clerk, U.S. House of Representatives

"Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories."

Voting America; United States Politics, 1840-2008

University of Richmond site provides "cinematic & interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the US from 1840-2004. This unique resource focuses on election data to the county level (rather than state)..."

 

Find: