Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

U.S. Political News Coverage and Analysis

These sources provide expert and non-partisan (mostly) coverage and analysis of U.S. political news.

CONTEMPORARY

These sources excel in coverage of contemporary political and electoral issues, but most also provide the ability to search through older material.

CQ Weekly.   Congressional Quarterly.
Available online. This online site contains all articles back to 1983.


National Journal.   National Journal.
Available online. The online site contains all articles back to 1977.

Related publications include National Journal Daily and National Journal Hotline.

  • C-Span.   C-Span.    Available online.
  • Capitol Spotlight.   C-Span and CQ.    Available online.
  • CQ Politics.  Congressional Quarterly.    Available online.
  • Economist.com.    Economist Newspaper Ltd.   Available online.   (Link to U.S. coverage.)
  • The Hill.   The Hill.    Available online.
  • Politico.  Capitol News Company.   Available online.
  • Real Clear PoliticsCompilation site.   Available online.
  • Roll Call.   Roll Call.    Available online.
  • Washington Wire.  Wall Street Journal.   Available online.
  • Sabato's Crystal Ball.   From UVa's Center for Politics.   Available online
  • ForeignPolicy.com.  Slate Group.   Available online.

W&L does not have subscriptions to these two services, so you cannot read the entire contents:

  • Rothenberg Political Report.  Another major political analyst.   Available online.   Additional Stuart Rotherberg material is available in the "Opinion" section of Roll Call .
  • Cook Political Report.   From the National Journal's political analyst.  ONLY the article leads are freely available online.    Twice-weekly Charlie Cook columns are available in the National Journal.  (See the column on the left.)

Here are the politics sections of the New York Times and Washington Post.

You can read these online newspapers and other media outlets in the library's collection of News Sites, which includes some resources which list newspapers state-by-state .

 

RETROSPECTIVE

These resources enable you to browse chronologically, examining issues and events in particular years or presidential administrations.

Congress and the Nation.   Congressional Quarterly.

Available online .

Quadrennial overviews of national politics.

Congressional Quarterly Almanac.   Congressional Quarterly.
In printed Reference collection: REF JK 1.C7  

Annual overviews of national politics.

Historic Documents.   Congressional Quarterly.

Available online.

 

Find: