Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Terrorism Resources

 

DATABASES OF EVENTS, GROUPS, AND LEADERS

Global Terrorism Database

"Information on terrorist events around the world since 1970... includes systematic data on international as well as domestic terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period."  From the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terror (START), supported by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the University of Maryland.  

South Asia Terrorism Portal

A "comprehensive, searchable and continuously updated database on all available information relating to terrorism, low intensity warfare and ethnic/communal/sectarian strife in South Asia."  The site also includes the weekly South Asia Intelligence Review.  Maintained by the Institute for Conflict Management (ICP).

The Terrorist List

Edward Mickolus' list of terrorists and related figures.

Voices of Jihad

Searchable "compilation of speeches, interviews, statements, and publications of jihadist leaders, foot soldiers, and sympathizers. Nearly all content is in English translation..."  (RAND Corporation)

Worldwide Incidents Tracking System  (WITS)

The U.S. Counterterrorism Center (NCTC) provides a database of incidents dating from 1994.

 

OTHER RESOURCES

Country Reports on Terrorism

Annual report to Congress on countries and groups.   Formerly Patterns of Global Terrorism.   (From the U.S. State Department).

Global Terrorism Analysis

This Jamestown Foundation site offers news, analysis, and several publcation series, including Terrorism Monitor.

Encyclopedia of Terrorism

Published in 2002, this encyclopedia contains over 300 signed entries on organizations, individuals, events, concepts, etc. You can view a list of entries here.   (Sage).

Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources

A collection (2006) of about 200 documents, including "speeches, magazine and newspaper articles, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, essays, and much more," on terrorism in the past three centuries. Each entry is accompanied by commentary of the document's context and significance.   (Thomson Gale).

Intenational Institute for Counter-Terrorism

The ICT in Israel offers articles, reports, news, and other publications.

Find: