Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Statistical Sources
Poverty Studies

Listed below are U.S. and international resources which specialize in data and analysis relevant to poverty studies.
You can find more wide-ranging data on this Statistical Sources page, perhaps starting with the Statistical Abstract of the United States.  

UNITED STATES

The Measure of America, 2010-2011.   New York University Press.

Available online.

U.S. Census Bureau
Poverty   This section within the Census Bureau's Web site bring together data sources, publications, links to other source, and much more. The Publications area might be a good place to begin.
The most current estimates of selected income and poverty statistics can be found in the Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates section.
You can find the most recent data in several subject areas, including poverty and income, in the American Factfinder and American Community Survey sections of the site.  Another useful area is Dynamics of Economic Well-Being.

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The Poverty Guidelines, Research, and Measurement site contains data on guidelines and other measures, as well as links to other important research sites. Be sure to look at the "Are You Looking For.." section at the bottom of the page.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Each year the BLS publishes A Profile of the Working Poor, and here is the most the most recent edition
BLS also maintains data on wages, earning, and benefits, while coordinating other data with the Census Bureau's "Current Population Survey."

U.S. House Ways and Means Committee
This committee periodically publishes Background Material and Data on Programs Within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means, more popularly known as the Green Book, a unique collection of information on such program areas as Medicare, social security, unemployment compensation, child care, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, and more.

U.S. Department of Agriculture Economic Research Service

The ERS includes the Rural Income, Poverty, and Welfare "briefing room" (a very useful collection of links to poverty data on farms, rural areas, and more) and the Food and Nutrition Assistance area (with publications on child nutrition, hunger, WIC, and more).

Another branch of the DOA with relevant information is the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion.

U.S. Federal Government Oversight

A few Federal agencies, such as the Congressional Budget Office and the General Accountancy Office, study the performance of government programs and proposals, in the process conducting original research on issues such as poverty.

U.S. Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics

Coordinated effort of over 20 U.S. Government agencies that produce or use statistical data on children and families and seeks to improve Federal data on children and families.  Products include the Childstats.gov Web site and the annual America's Children in Brief.

National Center for Children in Poverty
A research and advocacy center at Columbia University. Their site contains several excellent resources for finding data and generating tables on one or more states' policies in a range of subject areas, such as food stamps and Head Start. Look in the navigation bar on the left for the various Data Wizard possibilities, as well as the browseable "View by State" and "View by Policy" options.

Annie E. Casey Foundation

Annually-updated Kids Count database "profiles the well-being of America’s children on a state-by-state basis and ranks states on 10 key measures of child well-being."

 

INTERNATIONAL

United Nations Development Programme

The UNDP's annual Human Development Report is one of the most important international compilations of data on crucial social and economic issues.   Even though each edition focuses on a particular theme, wide-ranging development data are available in each report, with the Human Development Index often serving as a starting point.   In 2010 the HDR is introducing the Multidimensional Poverty Index, described as a "vivid 'multidimensional' picture of people living in poverty."

World Bank
The World Bank's PovertyNet provides "in-depth information on poverty measurement, monitoring, analysis, and on poverty reduction strategies."

Foreign and International Statistical Sites.

W&L library collection of official governmental data sites.

Children's Health and Poverty

Summer 2009 research in the Shepherd Program created this collection of data sources.

 

 

Find: