Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Biology 111 Research Guide

Winter Term 2011

Professor Fiona Watson

Prepared by Mary Abdoney, Science Librarian

Getting Started

For some background informtion on college level research, check out the online tutorial for Biology 111 (Flash is required)

Finding Journal Articles

Use bibliographic databases to search the scientific journal literature. 

Scopus

An exhaustive bibliographic database for all sciences with many different types of search options. Also use this database to do cited reference searching.

When searching Scopus, remember to put phrased searches (i.e., "cellular regeneration") in quotation marks so that these words are searched as a phrase.

All Biology Resources

 

How to get the text once you've found an article in Scopus

When you are searching any bibliographic database, you will want to access the full text of the articles that interest you.  There are two ways to do this:

  1. WebBridge:  Look for this button WebBridge next to the article citations.  Clicking on this button will open a new browser window displaying which of W&L's library resources have the full text of the article.  (Example)  If no full text is available, there is a link to the undergraduate Interlibrary Loan form.
  2. Periodical Finder: Use this to determine if W&L subscribes to the journal that your desired article appears in. Type in the full title of the journal (not the title of the article!) in the search box to determine if we have a journal in print or electronic format.  (This page at University of Idaho has a great explanation of the parts of a citation.)    

If neither of these work, you may have to use Interlibrary Loan.  Allow yourself at least a week to get the article(s).

If you have trouble using these resources, see Mary Abdoney in the Science Library for help.

Find: