Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Chemistry: Chemistry-Engineering Course Guide

Reference Sources

These are books and websites that will help you gain some background information on your topic, and they can be vital to your understanding of the subject and for topic development.

Kirk-Othmer concise encyclopedia of chemical technology

Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry

Dictionary of organic compounds

Dictionary of inorganic compounds

Rules of thumb for chemical engineers : a manual of quick, accurate solutions to everyday process engineering problems

Chemical engineering for chemists

A dictionary of chemistry

EPA/OPPT Chemical Fact Sheets

Periodic Table

Documentation Styles for the Sciences

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

Online Databases

Use online databases as you would a print periodical index.  Items retrieved from these databases have been evaluated for content and indexed by subject librarians, unlike items retrieved from a search engine.

ACS Publications

Annual Review of Physical Chemistry

ChemWeb

IngentaConnect

ScienceDirect

SciFinder Scholar

Scitation

Scopus

Other Useful Websites

These websites have been evaluated by the librarians at W&L for relevancy, content, and objectivity.  They include tools to help with your research as well as useful supplemental materials.

Chemistry Resources at W&L (W&L University Libraries)

Physics & Engineering Resources at W&L (W&L University Libraries)

Public Library of Science

ChemFinder.com

Chemistry.org

Department of Energy Information Bridge

Nature Magazine

Science Magazine

Scirus

Searching Patents (W&L University Libraries)

RefWorks

Chemistry Department Homepage (W&L University)

Back to Chemistry Research Guide Home

Find: