Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Biology: Diversity of Life Course Guide

Reference Sources

These are books and websites that will help you gain some background information on your topic, and they can be vital to your understanding of the subject and for topic development.

Animal behavior desk reference : a dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution

Encyclopedia of marine mammals

The Encyclopedia of animal biology

Birds of North America Online

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

PLANTS National Database

Documentation Styles for the Sciences

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

Online Databases

Use online databases as you would a print periodical index.  Items retrieved from these databases have been evaluated for content and indexed by subject librarians, unlike items retrieved from a search engine.

AGRICOLA

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics

BasicBIOSIS

BioOne

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts

IngentaConnect

ScienceDirect

Scopus

Other Useful Websites

These websites have been evaluated by the librarians at W&L for relevancy, content, and objectivity.  They include tools to help with your research as well as useful supplemental materials.

Biology Resources at W&L (W&L University Libraries)

Public Library of Science

Nature Magazine

Science Magazine

Scirus

RefWorks

Biology Department Homepage (W&L University)

Back to Biology Research Guide Home

Find: