Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Physics & Engineering: Engineering Course Guide

REFERENCE SOURCES

These are books and websites that will help you gain some background information on your topic, and they can be vital to your understanding of the subject and for topic development.

A dictionary of environmental & civil engineering

ASM materials engineering dictionary

Magill's survey of science. Applied science series

Dictionary of the physical sciences : terms, formulas, data

Engineering, ethics, and the environment

The Wiley engineer's desk reference : a concise guide for the professional engineer

The computer science and engineering handbook

Eshbach's handbook of engineering fundamentals

Instrumentation reference book

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

ONLINE DATABASES

Use online databases as you would a print periodical index.  Items retrieved from these databases have been evaluated for content and indexed by subject librarians, unlike items retrieved from a search engine.

Annual Review of Materials Research

IoP Electronic Journals

PROLA

Scitation

OTHER USEFUL WEBSITES

These websites have been evaluated by the librarians at W&L for relevancy, content, and objectivity.  They include tools to help with your research as well as useful supplemental materials.

Physics & Engineering Resources at W&L (W&L University Libraries)

Searching Patents (W&L University Libraries)

arXiv.org

Department of Energy Information Bridge

RefWorks

Science Magazine

ThomasNet.com

Physics & Engineering Department Homepage (W&L University)

Back to Physics & Engineering Research Guide Home

Find: