Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

GEOLOGY: Environmental Studies in Geology Course Guide

REFERENCE SOURCES

These are books and websites that will help you gain some background information on your topic, and can be vital to your understanding of the subject and for topic development.

Earth Sciences Encyclopedia online

Dictionary of the environment

A dictionary of ecology

A dictionary of ecology, evolution, and systematics

The Facts on File dictionary of environmental science

A dictionary of environmental & civil engineering

Encyclopedia of global environmental change

Use of Internet Resources for Student Research

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

ONLINE DATABASES

Use online databases as you would a print periodical index.  Items retrieved from these databases have been evaluated for content and indexed by subject librarians, unlike items retrieved from a search engine.

Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences

Annual Review of Environment and Resources

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

GEOBASE

GeoRefS

IngentaConnect

ScienceDirect

Scopus

OTHER USEFUL WEBSITES

These websites have been evaluated by the librarians at W&L for relevancy, content, and objectivity.  They include tools to help with your research as well as useful supplemental materials.

Geology Resources at W&L

Environmental Studies Resources at W&L

U.S. Geological Survey

Nature Magazine

RefWorks

Science Magazine

Geology Department Homepage

Environmental Studies Department Homepage

Back to Geology Research Guide Home

Find: