Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

MATHEMATICS: Course Guide

REFERENCE SOURCES

These are books and electronic resources that will help you gain some background information on your topic, and they can be vital to your understanding of the subject and for topic development.

Dictionary of applied math for engineers and scientists

The concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics

The words of mathematics : an etymological dictionary of mathematical terms used in English

Encyclopaedia of mathematics

CRC concise encyclopedia of mathematics

Mathematics handbook for science and engineering

Index to mathematical problems, 1980-1984

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

ONLINE DATABASES

Use online databases as you would a print periodical index.  Items retrieved from these databases have been evaluated for content and indexed by subject librarians, unlike items retrieved from a search engine.

arXiv.org

IngentaConnect

MathSciNet

ScienceDirect

Scirus

Scopus

OTHER USEFUL WEBSITES

These websites have been evaluated by the librarians at W&L for relevancy, content, and objectivity.  They include tools to help with your research as well as useful supplemental materials.

Mathematics Resources at W&L (W&L University Libraries)

American Mathematical Society

Math on the Web (AMS)

Mathematics Virtual Library (Florida State University)

Mathematics Association of America Journals

Math DL: MAA Mathematical Sciences Digital Library

MRef

RefWorks

Rose-Hulman Undergraduate Math Journal (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology)

SIAM: Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics

SIAM Journals Online

Mathematics Department Homepage (W&L University)

Back to Mathematics Research Guide Home

Find: