Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Psychology:Psychology Course Guide

Reference Sources

These are books and websites that will help you gain some background information on your topic, and can be vital to your understanding of the subject and for topic development.

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV-TR

The Oxford companion to the mind

A dictionary of psychology

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

Dictionary of theories, laws, and concepts in psychology

The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science

Dictionary of biological psychology

Documentation Styles for the Sciences

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

Online Databases

Use online databases as you would a print periodical index.  Items retrieved from these databases have been evaluated for content and indexed by subject librarians, unlike items retrieved from a search engine.

Annual Review of Clinical Psychology

Annual Review of Psychology

PsycArticles

PsycINFO

APA Journals

ScienceDirect

PubMed / MEDLINE

Other Useful Websites

These websites have been evaluated by the librarians at W&L for relevancy, content, and objectivity.  They include tools to help with your research as well as useful supplemental materials.

Psychology Resources at W&L (W&L University Libraries)

CogPrints Electronic Archive

PsychCrawler

RefWorks

Psychology Department Homepage (W&L University)

Back to Psychology Research Guide Home

Find: