Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Intro to Social Psychology Assignment Guide

Psychology 114 (Winter Term 2006)

Prepared by Mary Abdoney, Science Librarian

BACKGROUND INFORMATION ON YOUR TOPIC

If you need to look up a term, find a statistic, or you need some other small bit of information, these are where you need to go:

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV-TR 

(RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000 SCIENCE REFERENCE)

International Encyclopedia of the social and behavioral sciences

(via ScienceDirect) 

A Dictionary of Psychology 

(BR31 .C65 2001 SCIENCE REFERENCE)

The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology

(HM251 .B476 1995 LEYBURN REFERENCE)

Psychologists' desk reference

(RC467.2 .P78 2005 SCIENCE REFERENCE)

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES

Use the Online Databases to find journal articles related to your topic.  Some good ones for psychology are:

PsycINFO: (BEST!) The world's most comprehensive source for bibliographic coverage of psychology and behavioral sciences literature.  Subjects covered: education, linguistics, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, physiology, psychiatry, sociology, and other areas.  Coverage: 1887 to the present. Updated weekly.

PsycArticles: (GOOD) Source of searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research.  The contents of PsycArticles are incorporated into the PsycInfo database.

APA Journals: (POSSIBLY USEFUL) This resources is better for browsing the contents of APA published journals.  If you are searching for articles on specific topics, use PsycINFO or PsycArticles. 

Finding the full-text of the article

WRITING YOUR PAPER

These are some helpful resources for writing and formatting your paper. 

Refworks

Documentation Styles for the Sciences

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

Writing Center

A writer's reference PE1408 .H2778 2003 (Science Reference)

Handbook of research design & social measurement (Leyburn Level 4)

Find: