Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Biology: Structure & Function Course Guide

Reference Sources

These are books and websites that will help you gain some background information on your topic, and they can be vital to your understanding of the subject and for topic development.

Encyclopedia of human biology

Concise encyclopedia biochemistry and molecular biology

Dictionary of genetics & cell biology

A dictionary of genetics

Dictionary of endocrinology and related biomedical sciences

Gray's anatomy : the anatomical basis of clinical practice

Bartleby.com Gray's Anatomy

Documentation Styles for the Sciences

Journal Abbreviations in the Sciences

Online Databases

Use online databases as you would a print periodical index.  Items retrieved from these databases have been evaluated for content and indexed by subject librarians, unlike items retrieved from a search engine.

Annual Review of Genetics

BasicBIOSIS

BioMed Central

BioOne

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts

IngentaConnect

PubMed / MEDLINE

ScienceDirect

SciFinder Scholar

Scopus

Other Useful Websites

These websites have been evaluated by the librarians at W&L for relevancy, content, and objectivity.  They include tools to help with your research as well as useful supplemental materials.

Biology Resources at W&L (W&L University Libraries)

BioMed Central

Public Library of Science

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)

Nature Magazine

Science Magazine

Scirus

RefWorks

Biology Department Homepage (W&L University)

Back to Biology Research Guide Home

Find: