Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Finding Articles -- env st 110
introduction to environmental studies


To find out which periodicals are available at W&L in printed or online form, check this guide.
Items not available at W&L may be acquired via interlibrary loan.

 

FINDING BROAD COVERAGE OF TOPICS

Articles in a wide range of publications, including popular, news, and opinion magazines, with some coverage of major academic/scholarly journals.   Here you can find news coverage of contemporary or recent issues and events.

Academic Search Complete

Over 11,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers.  An excellent starting point.

 

FINDING ACADEMIC ARTICLES

These databases specialize in locating articles and other materials in scholarly/academic sources.  This is where you will find in-depth, authoritative treatment of subjects.

Environment Complete

Records from about 1,700 U.S. and international periodicals, some dating back to the 1940's, as well as full-text coverage of more than 650 journals, plus over 100 monographs and reference sources.

Scopus

Perhaps the largest citation-and-abstract scientific literature database in the world, with broad coverage of scientific, technical, and medical sciences literature, as covered in about 14,000 peer-reviewed resources,

JSTOR

Extensive full-text holdings of important scholarly journals in a broad range of subject areas, including important anthropology journals.  Important note:  JSTOR focuses on older articles and contains very few items published within the past two-to-four years.

Project Muse

Coverage of over 200 important scholarly journals, including several anthropology journals.

There are other article databases in other subject areas, such as history, economics, and politics and public policy areas.

.

Find: