Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University Washington and Lee University The University Library

Evolution Research Guide

Biology 340

Fall Term 2009

Professor Nadia Ayoub

FINDING BACKGROUND INFORMATION

To search for books, use the library catalog Annie. Some suggested books are listed below:

New books on evolution

 

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES

Use bibliographic databases to search the scientific journal literature.  The best for Evolution are described and linked below.

Scopus

An exhaustive bibliographic database for all sciences with many different types of search options. Also use this database to do cited reference searching.

CSA Biological Sciences

More biology focused, covering ecology, bacteriology, genetics, immunology, toxicology, and many other areas.

All Biology Resources

 

DO WE HAVE THE ARTICLE YOU'RE LOOKING FOR? 

When you are searching either of the above bibliographic databases, you will want to access the full text of some of the articles.  There are two ways to do this:

  1. WebBridge:  Look for this button next to the article citations.  Clicking on this button will open a new browser window displaying which of W&L's library resources have the full text of the article.  (Example)  If no full text is available, there is a link to the undergraduate Interlibrary Loan form.
  2. Periodical Finder: Use this to determine if W&L subscribes to the journal that your desired article appears in. Type in the full title of the journal (not the title of the article!) in the search box to determine if we have a journal in print or electronic format. 

If neither of these work, you may have to use Interlibrary Loan.  Allow yourself at least a week to get the article(s).

If you have trouble using these resources, see Mary Abdoney in the Science Library for help.

Find: